Club News


 Club News



Annual General Meeting
The club AGM took place in Kilmacowen Hall on Saturday 12th. There was a large crowd in attendance, to hear what was Philip Maree’s last address as Chairperson. In his address Philip congratulated all those who had represented the club on the field during the year, particularly the Senior Hurling team that brought the senior championship to the club for the first time. He also thanked Kilcawley’s, Strandhill Lodge and Suites and all our sponsors for their continued support. He paid tribute to the club officers who had given so much to the club through out his tenure as Chairperson. He paid special tribute to those who have decided to step down this year, Joe Gildea, Rose Cawley, Michelle McKiernan, Geraldine McGuinn, Kevin McGloin and Shane Kennedy. Philip also thanked the Grounds Committee of Michelle McKiernan, Tom Brennan, Gerry Prior, Joe Gildea and Kevin McGloin for the huge work and improvements carried out over the last few years. 
While much has been achieved in recent years, Philip expressed disappointment that the club’s main fundraiser, the lotto, hadn’t been supported as well as in previous years, and also that plans for development had not progressed as far as he had hoped. 
In conclusion he stated that in his four years as Chairperson he always tried to lead with integrity and honesty, to promote Gaelic games for all and to instill a culture of respect within the club. He wished the incoming executive the best for the future.
In the Secretary’s report, Cathal Martyn outlined the achievements on the field throughout the year. He congratulated the Scór quiz team on reaching the All-Ireland Final. He thanked all the club coaches who give of their time, and he also stressed the importance of complying with the regulations around coaching qualifications, Garda Vetting and Child Protection. Cathal paid tribute to Bord na nÓg for its efforts in promoting the games and thanked especially Pamela Higgins for her tireless work as secretary.
A comprehensive financial report was presented by treasurer, Rose Cawley. Rose has decided to step down, having devoted years of service to the club.
Officers elected for the coming year were, Ronan Hennessey (Chairperson), Seán Carroll (Assistant Chairperson), Cathal Martyn (Secretary), Mary Kerrigan (Assistant Secretary), Enda Mitchell (Coaching Officer), Patrick Healy (Insurance Officer), Frank O’ Sullivan (PRO), Pat Kerrigan (LGFA Representative), Kieran Tobin (Hurling Officer), Seamus Kilrehill (Cultural Officer), Conor McDonagh (Players’ Representative), Michael Harte (Urban Board Representative). A number of positions have yet to be filled. A busy year lies ahead.
It was great to have club patrons Seán McTiernan and Seán Sweeney in attendance.


​Wishing all members a very Happy New Year 2019, good health, happiness and peace. 

Philip Maree 

Club Chairperson 

by GAA\spadmin, Wed 29th Oct 2014
Club Lotto